Book Review: A Heart To Mend

altTitle: A HEART TO MEND

Author: Myne Whitman

First Published: December 12, 2009

Copyright: 2009

Page No: 244

ISBN: 978-1-4490-4570-4

Reviewed by Lan Thano

A Heart to Mend, a novel recently published by Myne Whitman, is a new addition to the sparsely populated field of Nigerian romance novels. It is the story of Gladys Eborah, a young girl who has recently moved from Enugu to Lagos in search of work after completing her education. It describes how she meets and falls for the successful, yet emotionally distant Edward Bestman, and the turbulent relationship between them as she struggles to deal with his unwillingness to commit to a relationship. The novel also has two sub-plots: one which deals with her attempts to build a relationship with the estranged aunt who she stays with in Lagos, and another which reveals a sinister attempt to sabotage Edward's business empire and ends up creating a huge rift in his relationship with Gladys.

The author immediately engages us in the first chapter by painting a vivid picture of Gladys' feelings of apprehension on arriving in the busy, bustling city of Lagos. She also quickly sets the stage for the budding romance between Gladys and Edward. Thereafter, she gradually develops the story, and by degrees, we get to see how the relationship between the two protagonists develops. She paints a fuller picture of both characters; we get to see how driven and successful Edward is as she describes his business interests in realistic detail. But we also see conflict in Edward's mind as he is torn between his desire for Gladys, and the mistrust of people planted in him from earlier experiences of betrayal. Gladys' evolution from a simple girl new to the city to a young urban professional is also realistically chronicled, as is the turmoil she faces as she is uncertain of Edward's feelings towards her.

The author also skillfully weaves in the sub plot involving the takeover of Edward's business interests. It is clear that she has spent a lot of time researching to paint a realistic picture of business practices in the Nigerian financial industry; but what is more compelling is the drama that she conjures up as the identities and motives of the main actors in the takeover become clear, and the relationship between Gladys and Edward is threatened. The other sub plot involving Gladys' aunt is not as integral to the story, but it does forms an interesting backdrop.

The author has used a writing style that is simple and direct, with lots of descriptive detail. On the one hand, this allows the reader to follow the narrative with ease, while at the same time immersing them in the story; on the other, readers who are more interested in the story rather than the setting may find the overly descriptive nature of the prose a distraction. As for the plot, the story is billed as a romance, so there are no prizes for guessing how the story ends. However, it is the journey, not the destination that entertains in this novel, and the author has done a great job of creating a story of two characters who engage our sympathies and who we find wanting to triumph over the odds that are thrown their way.

Available for purchase

1. AuthorHouse: http://www.authorhouse.com/Bookstore/ItemDetail.aspx?bookid=67912

2. January 2010; Amazon: http://amazon.com

3. February 2010; Nigeria: See details at http://mynewhitmanwrites.com



1
A Heart to Mend
Myne Whitman posted on 12-22-2009, 23:54:12 PM
Book Title: A HEART TO MEND
Author: Myne Whitman
First Published: AuthorHouse, December 12, 2009
Copyright : Nkem Okotcha, 2009
Type: US Trade 6*9 Paperback; EBook
Page No: 244
ISBN: 978-1-4490-4570-4
Price: $13.50; $6.50
Status: Available for purchase

1. AuthorHouse: http://www.authorhouse.com/Bookstore/ItemDetail.aspx?bookid=67912
2. January 2010; Amazon: http://amazon.com
3. February 2010; Nigeria: See details at http://mynewhitman.com

Nigerian author Myne Whitman has written a captivating first novel that presents the gripping tale of a young woman finding her feet in the world and how her life intersects with that of the wealthy egoist she meets. This main story line runs through the subplots of a tear-soaked family reunion and high-powered company acquisitions.
A HEART TO MEND narrates the relationship between Gladys and Edward and offers a unique reading experience. Direct and action packed, the masterful use of emotion and suspense will keep readers totally engrossed and guessing till the end.

Sheltered Gladys Eborah has spent most of her life in a suburb of Enugu brought up in a deprived single parent household after losing her father as a young girl. After finishing her education, she moves to Lagos to seek a job and moves in with an estranged aunt who now wants to be forgiven for all perceived wrongs. Gladys suspects Aunt Isioma abandoned them out of disdain for their poverty, and has the uneasy role of the bridge between both families.

Her new friendships and career achievements gradually transition Gladys into an independent young woman. Soon, she begins to fall for wealthy Edward Bestman who, though physically attracted to her, is emotionally unavailable. Edward is very wealthy, but he is haunted by the past of his illegitimate birth and other secrets he will not share.

The themes of premarital sex, social class mobility, and romantic ups and downs that mark a budding love are fully explored. However, Myne Whitman takes the story even further. Some unnamed people are about to take over Edward's business empire and Gladys is implicated. Who are these people who want to betray him and destroy their happiness?

A HEART TO MEND will bring tears to the eyes and cheers at the end especially for those who have experienced the search for a career or tumultuous family and emotional relationships. Readers will be pleasantly surprised by the description of Lagos, the Nigerian stock market, and other business intrigues.


***************************


About the Author:

Myne Whitman grew up in Enugu, Nigeria, studying a lot, reading everything she could lay her hands on, and playing the rest of the time. She describes herself as friendly, caring and fun-loving. Though quiet and laid-back, she likes a good debate once in a while. She has been a teacher, NGO consultant, banker, skate-hire attendant, researcher and Scottish government worker. After a postgrad degree and a few years in Edinburgh, Scotland, she now lives in the United States with her husband. More information is on her Blog, Facebook and Twitter.

Contact: myne@mynewhitman.com
Re: Book Review: A Heart To Mend
Myne Whitman posted on 06-28-2010, 14:05:03 PM
So who has finished theirs? What say ye?
Re: Book Review: A Heart To Mend
MsWoman posted on 06-28-2010, 15:00:53 PM
Dear Myne:

I wish I could say I had, but I bought 3 NVS members books at the same time, about 3 months ago, finally finished one, not because it was not an interesting read (far from it, I really enjoyed it, Oga dem una try nor be small oh), BUT because believe it or not, I only have time to read when I am flying i.e. on the plane by myself. I plan on taking yours and Wayo Guy's on my trip to Naija next month. I have already warned my brother and sister that there will be no gisting or disturbances with/from them on those flights so I can concentrate well well! I am looking forward it.

I tried doing a review on Oga dem's but couldn't get to post it. I abandoned the effort after a few tries. I guess I could always do a PM.
Re: Book Review: A Heart To Mend
Myne Whitman posted on 06-29-2010, 16:38:34 PM
Hi Mswoman, I laughed as I read you. Please try to post up Oga Dem's book and even on Amazon too if you can no matter how short. Me I'm looking forward to your thoughts when you're done. Thanks for buying o!
Re: Book Review: A Heart To Mend
Myne Whitman posted on 04-25-2011, 14:29:34 PM
Hi my people, I am seeking for reviews of my books. If you have read it, please do put up a review here or on Amazon, Goodreads, Shelfari, Librarything, whereever you congregate with other book lovers.

Honest reviews only
Re: Book Review: A Heart To Mend
Ph3y posted on 06-02-2011, 15:55:18 PM
I just got my copy this past weekend. After a looong search. Haven't started it yet but i would post review as soon as I'm through.

btw can't seem to find dem's book anywhere.......yet. Am still searching though. plus what it the title of Wayo guy's book?
Re: Book Review: A Heart To Mend
MsWoman posted on 06-03-2011, 10:54:07 AM
Wayo Guy and Other Stories I believe is the title.
Re: Book Review: A Heart To Mend
Myne Whitman posted on 08-01-2011, 11:07:22 AM
For those in the UK with Kindle, you can get a free copy of AHTM during their summer promo. My book is number one on the romantic suspense bestseller list. Check it out.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/bestsellers/digital-text/362728031/ref=pd_zg_hrsr_kinc_1_5_last
1
Please register before you can make new comment